Subcommissions

The seventeen subject subcommissions of ICS are:

  1. Precryogenian Stratigraphy
  2. Cryogenian Stratigraphy
  3. Ediacaran Stratigraphy
  4. Cambrian Stratigraphy
  5. Ordovician Stratigraphy
  6. Silurian Stratigraphy
  7. Devonian Stratigraphy
  8. Carboniferous Stratigraphy
  9. Permian Stratigraphy
  10. Triassic Stratigraphy
  11. Jurassic Stratigraphy
  12. Cretaceous Stratigraphy
  13. Paleogene Stratigraphy
  14. Neogene Stratigraphy
  15. Quaternary Stratigraphy
  16. Stratigraphic Classification
  17. Timescale Calibration

Subcommission on Precryogenian Stratigraphy

Homepage

This Subcommission was known formerly as the Subcommission on Precambrian Stratigraphy

Chair: Martin J. Whitehouse

Professor, Director NordSIMS facility
Department of Geosciences
Swedish Museum of Natural History
Box 50007, SE-104 05 Stockholm, Sweden
Tel: +46 8 519 551 69(office)/67(lab)
E-mail: martin.whitehouse@nrm.se

Vice-Chair: Douglas Galante

Brazilian Synchrotron Light Laboratory
Rua Giuseppe Maximo Scolfaro, 1000
Campinas - SP CEP: 13083-100
Brazil
E-mail: douglas.galante@lnls.br

Secretary: Evelyn Ap. M. Sanchez Bizan

Instituto de Ciência e Tecnologia
Universidade Federal dos Vales do Jequitinhonha e Mucuri
UFVJM - Campus JK
Alto da Jacuba, Diamantina, MG, Brasil, CEP 39100-000
E-mail: eamsanchez@gmail.com

Subcommission on Cryogenian Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Maoyan Zhu

State Key of Palaeobiology and Stratigraphy & Center for Excellence in Life and Paleoenvironment
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology
Chinese Academy of Sciences
39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing 210008, China E-mail: myzhu@nigpas.ac.cn

Vice-Chair: Carol Dehler

Professor, Department of Geology
Utah State University
4505 Old Main Hill, Logan, Utah  84333
United States
E-mail: Carol.Dehler@usu.edu

Secretary: Ying Zhou

Department of Earth Sciences
University College London
Gower Place, London, WC1E 6BT, UK
E-mail: y-zhou@ucl.ac.uk

Subcommission on Ediacaran Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Marc Laflamme

Assistant Professor
Dept of Chemical and Physical Sciences
Research Associate in Palaeobiology
Royal Ontario Museum
University of Toronto Mississauga
3359 Mississauga Road N.
Mississauga, ON L5L 1C6, Canada
Phone: +1 905-828-5228 / +1 647-999-3589
E-mail: marc.laflamme@utoronto.ca

Vice-Chair: James Schiffbauer

Associate Professor – Department of Geological Sciences
Director – X-ray Microanalysis Core Facility
University of Missouri
E-mail: schiffbauerj@missouri.edu

Vice-Chair: Lucas Warren

Sedimentology and Biostratigraphy
Institute of Geosciences and Exact Sciences
Department of Applied Geology
São Paulo State University (UNESP), SP, Brazil
E-mail: lucas.warren@unesp.br

Subcommission on Cambrian Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Per Ahlberg

Professor, Department of Geology
Lund University
Sölvegatan 12, SE-223-62 Lund, Sweden
Tel: +46 46 222 78 70
E-mail: per.ahlberg@geol.lu.se

Vice-Chair: Maoyan Zhu

State Key of Palaeobiology and Stratigraphy & Center for Excellence in Life and Paleoenvironment
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology
Chinese Academy of Sciences
39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing 210008, China E-mail: myzhu@nigpas.ac.cn

Secretary: Anna Zylinska

Department of Historical Geology,
Regional Geology and Palaeontology
Faculty of Geology
University of Warsaw
Zwirki i Wigury 93
PL-02-089, Warszawa, Poland
E-mail: anna.zylinska@uw.edu.pl

Subcommission on Ordovician Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Thomas Servais

UMR 8198 EVO ECO PALEO – Evolution, Ecologie et Paléontologie
CNRS - Université de Lille – Sciences et Technologies
Bâtiment SN5, 59655 Villeneuve d’Ascq Cedex, FRANCE
Tel: +33 (0)3 20 33 72 20
E-mail: Thomas.Servais@univ-lille.fr

Vice-Chair: Zhan Renbin

State Key Laboratory of Paleobiology and Stratigraphy
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology (NIGP)
Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS)
39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing, 210008, CHINA
Tel: +86 25 83282132
E-mail: rbzhan@nigpas.ac.cn

Secretary: Bertrand Lefebvre

UMR 5276 LGL -TPE
CNRS - Université de Lyon 1
Bâtiment GEODE, 69622 Villeurbanne Cedex, FRANCE
Tel: +33 (0)4 72 43 28 34
E-mail: Bertrand.Lefebvre@univ-lyon1.fr

Subcommission on Silurian Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Petr Štorch

Principal Research Scientist
Institute of Geology CAS
Rozvojová 269
Praha 6, CZ 165 00, Czech Republic
Tel: +420-233087261
E-mail: storch@gli.cas.cz

Vice-Chair: Carlo Corradini

Dipartimento di Scienze Chimiche e
Geologiche -Università di Cagliari, via Trentino 51
I-09127 Cagliari, Italy
E-mail: corradin@unica.it

Vice-Chair: Renbin Zhan

Professor
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Paleontology
Chinese Academy of Sciences
No. 39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing 210008, China
Tel: +86 2583282132
E-mail: rbzhan@nigpas.ac.cn

Webmaster: Huang Bin

Subcommission on Devonian Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Ladislav Słavik

Department of Paleobiology and Paleoecology
Institute of Geology AS CR, v.v.i.
Rozvojova 269
CZ-165 02 Praha 6, Czech Republic
Tel: +420 233087247
E-mail: slavik@gli.cas.cz

Vice-Chair: José Ignacio Valenzuela Ríos

Department De Geología
Universitat de València
C/. Dr. Moliner 50, E-46100, Burjassot, Spain
Tel: +34 96 3543412
E-mail: Jose.I.Valenzuela@uv.es

Secretary: Ulrich Jansen

Palaeozoology III, Senckenberg Gesellschaft
für Naturforschung Rechtsfähiger
Verein gemäß § 22 BGB, Senckenberganlage 25
60325 Frankfurt, Germany
Tel: +49-69-97075 1146
E-mail: ulrich.jansen@senckenberg.de

Newsletter editor: R. Thomas Becker

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität
Geologisch-Paläontologisches Institut, Corrensstr. 24
D-48149, Münster
Tel: +49-251-83 339 51
E-mail: rbecker@uni-muenster.de

Webmaster: Carlo Corradini

Dipartimento di Matematica e Geoscienze
Università di Trieste
via Weiss 2 - 34128 Trieste, Italy
Tel: +39 040 558-2033
E-mail: ccorradin@units.it

Subcommission on Carboniferous Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Xiangdong Wang

Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology, CAS
39 East Beijing Rd. Nanjing, Jiangsu 210008, China
E-mail: xdwang@nigpas.ac.cn

Vice-Chair: Svetlana Nikolaeva

1. Department of Earth Sciences
The Natural History Museum
London, SW7 5BD UK
2. UK & Paleontological Institute
Russian Academy of Sciences
Profsoyuznaya ul., 123, Moscow, 117997 Russia
E-mail: s.nikolaeva@nhm.ac.uk

Secretary: Wenkun Qie

Key Laboratory of Economic Stratigraphy and Palaeogeography
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology, CAS
39 East Beijing Rd. Nanjing, Jiangsu 210008, China
E-mail: wkqie@nigpas.ac.cn

Subcommission on Permian Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Lucia Angiolini

Pres. della Società Paleontologica Italiana
Coordinatore del Collegio Didattico interdipartimentale di Scienze Naturali
Professore di Paleontologia GEO/01
Università degli Studi di Milano
Dip. di Scienze della Terra "A. Desio"
Via Mangiagalli 34, 20133 Milano Italy
minor Tel: +39 0250315513
E-mail: lucia.angiolini@unimi.it

Vice-Chair: Mike Stephenson

Professor, British Geological Survey
Keyworth Nottingham, NG12 5GG, UK
Tel: +44 07971 330738
E-mail: mhste@bgs.ac.uk

Secretary: Yichun Zhang

Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology
Chinese Academy of Sciences
39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing 210008
Jiangsu, P.R.China
Tel: +86-25-83282137
E-mail: yczhang@nigpas.ac.cn

Subcommission on Triassic Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Zhong-Qiang Chen

State Key Laboratory of Biogeology & Environmental Geology
China University of Geosciences (Wuhan)
Wuhan 430074, China
Tel: +86-27-67883068
E-mail: zhong.qiang.chen@cug.edu.cn

Vice-Chair: Wolfram M. Kürschner

Professor, Department of Geosciences
University of Oslo
P.O. Box 1047 Blindern, N-0316 Oslo, Norway
Tel: +47 22856672
E-mail: w.m.kurschner@geo.uio.no

Secretary: Yadong Sun

GeoZentrum Nordbayern
University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
Schlossgarten 5, 91054 Erlangen, Germany
Tel: +49 09131 85 23422
E-mail: yadong.sun@fau.de

Subcommission on Jurassic Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Angela L. Coe

Professor, School of Environment
Earth and Ecosystem Sciences
The Open University
Walton Hall, Milton Keynes, MK7 6AA, UK
Tel: +44 1098 652161
E-mail: Angela.Coe@open.ac.uk

Vice-Chair: Emanuela Mattioli

Professor, Laboratoire de Géologie de Lyon
Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1
69622, Villeurbanne, France
Tel: +33 4 72445800
E-mail: emanuela.mattioli@univ-lyon1.fr

Vice-Chair: Grzegorz Pienkowski

Professor, Polish Geological Institute - National Research Institute
4 Rakowiecka St.
00-975 Warszawa, Poland
Tel.: +48 22 45 92 256
E-mail: grzegorz.pienkowski@pgi.gov.pl

Secretary: David B. Kemp

Professor, School of Earth Sciences
China University of Geosciences (Wuhan)
388 Lumo Road
Wuhan 430074, P.R. China
E-mail: davidkemp@cug.edu.cn

Subcommission on Cretaceous Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Maria Rose Petrizzo

Professor, Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra "A. Desio"
Università degli Studi di Milano
via Mangiagalli 34
20133 Milano, Italy
Tel: +39-02-503 15531
E-mail: mrose.petrizzo@unimi.it

Vice-Chair: James Haggart

Research Scientist, Geological Survey of Canada
1500-605 Robson Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5J3, Canada
Tel: +1-604-666-8460
E-mail: jhaggart@nrcan.gc.ca

Vice-chair: Michael Wagreich

Professor, Depart. of Geodynamics and Sedimentology
University of Vienna
Althanstrasse 14
Vienna, A-1090, Austria
Tel: +43-1-4277-53465
E-mail: michael.wagreich@univie.ac.at

Secretary: Francesca Falzoni

Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra "A. Desio"
Università degli Studi di Milano
via Mangiagalli 34
20133 Milano, Italy
Tel: +39-02-503 15563
E-mail: francesca.falzoni@unimi.it

Subcommission on Paleogene Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Laia Alegret

Dept. Ciencias de la Tierra
Universidad de Zaragoza
Pedro Cerbuna s/n, 50009 Zaragoza, Spain
Tel: +34 876553465
E-mail: laia@unizar.es

Vice-Chair: Aitor Payros

Department of Stratigraphy and Paleontology
University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU)
Ap. 644, E48080 Bilbao, Spain
Tel: +34 946015427
E-mail: a.payros@ehu.eus

Secretary: Claudia Agnini

Dipartimento di Geoscienze
Universita' degli Studi di Padova
Via Giovanni Gradenigo
6 - I-35131 - Padova – Italy
Tel: +390498279187
E-mail: claudia.agnini@unipd.it

Subcommission on Neogene Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Kenneth G. Miller

Professor, Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences
State University of New Jersey
610 Taylor Rd., Piscataway, NY 08854-8066, USA
Tel: +1 732-445-3622
E-mail: kgm@rci.rutgers.edu

Vice-Chair: Elena Turco

Professor, Dipartimento di Scienze Chimiche, della Vita e della Sostenibilità Ambientale
Università degli Studi di Parma
Parco Area delle Scienze 157/A, 43124 Parma, Italy
Tel: +39 0521905366
E-mail: elena.turco@unipr.it

Secretary: Marie-Pierre Aubry

Dept of Earth & Planetary Sciences
Institute of Earth, Oceans, and Atmospheric Sciences
Rutgers, State University of New Jersey
610 Taylor Rd., Piscataway, NJ 08854-80664
Tel: +1 848 445 0822
E-mail: aubry@eps.rutgers.edu

Subcommission on Quaternary Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Jan Zalasiewicz

Emeritus Professor of Palaeobiology
University of Leicester
Leicester, LE1 7RH, UK
Tel: +44 (0)116 252 3928
E-mail: jaz1@leicester.ac.uk, jaz1@le.ac.uk

Vice-Chair: Martin J. Head

Professor, Department of Earth Sciences
Brock University
1812 Sir Isaac Brock Way
St. Catharines, Ontario L2S 3A1, Canada
Tel: +1 905-688-5550 ext. 5216
E-mail: mjhead@brocku.ca

Vice-Chair: Liping Zhou

Department of Geography
Peking University
Beijing 100871, China
Tel: +86 10 62756052
E-mail: lpzhou@pku.edu.cn

Secretary: Adele Bertini

Professor, Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra
University of Firenze
Via G. La Pira 4
50121 Firenze, Italy
Tel: +39 348 8715460
E-mail: adele.bertini@unifi.it
Skype: Artemisiablu

Subcommission on Stratigraphic Classification

Homepage

Chair: Werner E. Piller

Institute for Earth Sciences
University of Graz
Heinrichstrasse 26
8010 Graz, Austria
Tel: +43 316 380 5582
E-mail: werner.piller@uni-graz.at

Vice-Chair: Brian R. Pratt

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences
University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7N 5E2 Canada
Tel: +1 306-966-5725
E-mail: brian.pratt@usask.ca

Vice-Chair: Richard H. Fluegeman

Department of Geological Sciences
Ball State University
4130 West University Ave
Muncie, Indiana 47304, USA
Tel: +1-765-285-8267
E-mail: rfluegem@bsu.edu

Secretary: Jochen Erbacher

Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources
Geozentrum Hannover
Stilleweg 2
30655 Hannover, Germany
Tel: +49-511-643-2795
E-mail: Jochen.Erbacher@bgr.de

Subcommission on Timescale Calibration

Chair: Bradley D. Cramer

Associate Professor, Department of Earth & Environmental Sciences
University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa 52242, USA
E-mail: bradley-cramer@uiowa.edu

Vice-Chair: Mark D. Schmitz

Professor, Department of Geosciences
Boise State University
Boise, Idaho, 83725, USA
E-mail: markschmitz@boisestate.edu

Secretary: Anne-Christine DaSilva

Lecturer, Invited Professor
Department of Geology
Université de Liège
B-4000 Liège, Belgium
E-mail: ac.dasilva@uliege.be