Subcommissions

The sixteen subcommissions of ICS are listed as follows.

  1. Precambrian Stratigraphy
  2. Cryogenian Stratigraphy
  3. Ediacaran Stratigraphy
  4. Cambrian Stratigraphy
  5. Ordovician Stratigraphy
  6. Silurian Stratigraphy
  7. Devonian Stratigraphy
  8. Carboniferous Stratigraphy
  9. Permian Stratigraphy
  10. Triassic Stratigraphy
  11. Jurassic Stratigraphy
  12. Cretaceous Stratigraphy
  13. Paleogene Stratigraphy
  14. Neogene Stratigraphy
  15. Quaternary Stratigraphy
  16. Stratigraphic Classification

Subcommission on Precambrian Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Nora Noffke

Department of Ocean, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
Old Dominion University
4600 Elkhorn Avenue
Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Tel: +1 757 749 7090
E-mail: nnoffke@odu.edu

Vice-Chair: Douglas Galante

Brazilian Synchrotron Light Laboratory
Rua Giuseppe Maximo Scolfaro, 1000
Campinas - SP CEP: 13083-100
Brazil
E-mail: douglas.galante@lnls.br

Secretary: Evelyn Ap. M. Sanchez Bizan

Instituto de Ciência e Tecnologia
Universidade Federal dos Vales do Jequitinhonha e Mucuri
UFVJM - Campus JK
Alto da Jacuba, Diamantina, MG, Brasil, CEP 39100-000
E-mail: eamsanchez@gmail.com

Subcommission on Cryogenian Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Graham Shields-Zhou

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences
University College London
Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT
United Kingdom
Tel: +44 207 6797821
E-mail: g.shields@ucl.ac.uk

Vice-Chair: Galen P. Halverson

Dept. of Earth & Planetary Sciences
McGill University
3450 University Street, Montreal, Quebec
H3A 2A7 Canada
E-mail: galen.halverson@mcgill.ca

Secretary: Susannah M. Porter

Department of Earth Science
University of California at Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, CA 93106
E-mail: porter@geol.ucsb.edu

Subcommission on Ediacaran Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Shuhai Xiao

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences
Virginia Polytechnical Institute and University
4044 Derring Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061-0420, USA
Tel: +1-540-231-1336
E-mail: xiao@vt.edu

Vice-Chair: Dmitriy Grazhdankin

Inst of Petroleum Geology & Geophysics
Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences
Koptyug Avenue 3, Novosibirsk 630090 Russia
E-mail: f6oeoua@mac.com

Secretary: Marc Laflamme

Assistant Professor
Dept of Chemical and Physical Sciences
University of Toronto Mississauga
3359 Mississauga Road N.
Mississauga, ON L5L 1C6
Canada
E-mail: marc.laflamme@utoronto.ca

Subcommission on Cambrian Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Loren Babcock

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences
Ohio State University
125 South Oval Mall, Columbus, OH 43210, USA
E-mail: babcock.5@osu.edu, loren.babcock@geol.lu.se

Vice-Chair: Xingliang Zhang

Professor, Department of Geology, Northwest University
229 Taibailu Street, Xi’an 710069, China
E-mail: xzhang69@nwu.edu.cn

Secretary: Per Ahlberg

Professor, Department of Geology
Lund University
Sölvegatan 12, SE-223-62 Lund, Sweden
Tel: +46 46 222 78 70
E-mail: per.ahlberg@geol.lu.se

Subcommission on Ordovician Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Andre Dronov

Professor, Geological Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences,
Pyzhevsky per.7, 119017 Moscow, Russia
Tel: +495-230-81-17
E-mail: dronov@ginras.ru

Vice-Chair: Thomas Servais

UMR 8198 Evo-Eco-Paleo,
CNRS-University of Lille, France
Tel: +33 (0)3 20 33 72 20
E-mail: thomas.servais@univ-lille1.fr

Secretary: Ian Percival

Principal Research Scientist (Palaeontologist)
Geological Survey of NSW,
W.B. Clarke Geoscience Centre 947-953 Londonderry Rd, Londonderry 2753
New South Wales. Australia
Tel: +61-2-4777-0315
E-mail: ian.percival@industry.nsw.gov.au

Subcommission on Silurian Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Petr Štorch

Principal Research Scientist,
Institute of Geology CAS
Rozvojová 269
Praha 6, CZ 165 00, Czech Republic
Tel: +420-233087261
E-mail: storch@gli.cas.cz

Vice-Chair: Carlo Corradini

Dipartimento di Scienze Chimiche e
Geologiche -Università di Cagliari, via Trentino 51
I-09127 Cagliari, Italy
E-mail: corradin@unica.it

Secretary: Renbin Zhan

Professor,
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Paleontology
Chinese Academy of Sciences
No. 39 East Beijing Road, Nanjing 210008, China
Tel: +86 2583282132
E-mail: rbzhan@nigpas.ac.cn

Subcommission on Devonian Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: John E. A. Marshall

Professor, School of Ocean and Earth Science
University of Southampton
National Oceanography Centre
European Way
Southampton, SO14 3 ZH, UK
Tel: +44 2380592015
E-mail: jeam@noc.soton.ac.uk

Vice-Chair: Carlton E. Brett

Professor, Department of Geology
University of Cincinnati
345 Clifton Court, Cincinnati, Ohio 45221, USA
Tel: +1 513-566-4556
E-mail: carlton.brett@uc.edu

Secretary: Ladislav Słavik

Department of Paleobiology and Paleoecology
Institute of Geology AS CR, v.v.i.
Rozvojova 269
CZ-165 02 Praha 6, Czech Republic
Tel: +420 233087247
E-mail: slavik@gli.cas.cz

Newsletter editor: R. Thomas Becker

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität
Geologisch-Paläontologisches Institut, Corrensstr. 24
D-48149, Münster
Tel: +49-251-83 339 51
E-mail: rbecker@uni-muenster.de

Subcommission on Carboniferous Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Xiangdong Wang

Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology, CAS
39 East Beijing Rd. Nanjing, Jiangsu 210008, China
E-mail: xdwang@nigpas.ac.cn

Vice-Chair: Svetlana Nikolaeva

1. Department of Earth Sciences
The Natural History Museum
London, SW7 5BD UK
2. UK & Paleontological Institute
Russian Academy of Sciences
Profsoyuznaya ul., 123, Moscow, 117997 Russia
Tel: +
E-mail: s.nikolaeva@nhm.ac.uk

Secretary: Wenkun Qie

Key Laboratory of Economic Stratigraphy and Palaeogeography,
Nanjing Institute of Geology and Palaeontology, CAS
39 East Beijing Rd. Nanjing, Jiangsu 210008, China
E-mail: wkqie@nigpas.ac.cn

Subcommission on Permian Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Shuzhong Shen

Professor, Nanjing Institute of Geology & Paleontology
39 East Beijing Rd., Nanjing 210008, China
Tel: +86-25-83282131
E-mail: szshen@nigpas.ac.cn

Vice-Chair: Jörg W. Schneider

Professor, TU Bergakademie Freiberg
Geologisches Institut
Bereich Paläontologie/Stratigraphie
Bernhard-von-Cotta-Strasse 2
09599 Freiberg, Germany
Tel: +49 (0)3731-39-2856
E-mail: Joerg.Schneider@geo.tu-freiberg.de

Secretary: Lucia Angiolini

Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra "A. Desio"
Via Mangiagalli 34, 20133 Milano, Italy
E-mail: lucia.angiolini@unimi.it

Subcommission on Triassic Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Mark Hounslow

Professor,
Centre for Environ. Magnetism & Palaeomagnetism
Geography Dept, Lancaster University
Farrer Avenue, Lancaster, LA1 4YQ, UK
E-mail: m.hounslow@lancaster.ac.uk

Vice-Chair: Wolfram M. Kuerschner

Professor, Department of Geosciences
University of Oslo
P.O. Box 1047 Blindern, N-0316 Oslo, Norway
Tel: +
E-mail:

Secretary: Christopher A. McRoberts

Professor, Department of Geology
State University of New York at Cortland
P.O. Box 2000, Cortland, New York 13045, USA
Tel: +
E-mail: Christopher.McRoberts@cortland.edu

Albertiana Editor/Webmaster: Wolfram M. Kuerschner

Professor, Department of Geosciences
University of Oslo
P.O. Box 1047 Blindern, N-0316 Oslo, Norway
Tel: +
E-mail:

Subcommission on Jurassic Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Stephen P. Hesselbo

Professor, Department of Earth Sciences
University of Oxford,
Oxford OX1 3PR, UK
Tel: +
E-mail: Stephen.Hesselbo@earth.ox.ac.uk

Vice-Chair: Emanuela Mattioli

Professor, Laboratoire de Géologie de Lyon
Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1
69622, Villeurbanne, France
Tel: +33 4 72445800
E-mail: emanuela.mattioli@univ-lyon1.fr

Secretary: Grzegorz Pienkowski

Polish Geological Institute - National Research Institute
4 Rakowiecka St.
00-975 Warszawa, Poland
Tel.: +48 22 45 92 256
E-mail: gpie@pgi.gov.pl

Subcommission on Cretaceous Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Maria Rose Petrizzo

Professor, Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra "A. Desio"
Università degli Studi di Milano
via Mangiagalli 34
20133 Milano, Italy
Tel: +39-02-503 15531
E-mail: mrose.petrizzo@unimi.it

Vice-Chair: James Haggart

Research Scientist, Geological Survey of Canada,
1500-605 Robson Street,
Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 5J3, Canada
Tel: +1-604-666-8460
E-mail: jhaggart@nrcan.gc.ca

Secretary: Michael Wagreich

Professor, Depart. of Geodynamics and Sedimentology
University of Vienna
Althanstrasse 14
Vienna, A-1090, Austria
Tel: +43-1-4277-53465
E-mail: michael.wagreich@univie.ac.at

Secretary: Francesca Falzoni

Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra "A. Desio"
Università degli Studi di Milano
via Mangiagalli 34
20133 Milano, Italy
Tel: +39-02-503 15563
E-mail: francesca.falzoni@unimi.it

Subcommission on Paleogene Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Simonetta Monechi

Professor, Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra
Universitá di Firenze
4, Via la Pira, I-50121, Italy
Tel: +390552757597
E-mail: Simonetta.monechi@unifi.it

Vice-Chair: Laia Alegret

Dept. Ciencias de la Tierra
Universidad de Zaragoza
Pedro Cerbuna s/n, 50009 Zaragoza, Spain
Tel: +34 876553465
E-mail: laia@unizar.es

Secretary: Aitor Payros

Department of Stratigraphy and Paleontology
University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU)
Ap. 644, E48080 Bilbao, Spain
Tel: +34 946015427
E-mail: a.payros@ehu.eus

Subcommission on Neogene Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Isabella Raffi

Professor, Dipartimento di Ingegneria e Geologia
Università degli Studi "G. d'Annunzio" di Chieti-Pescara
Campus Universitario, Via dei Vestini 31
66013 Chieti Scalo, Italy
Tel: +39 08713556421
E-mail: raffi@unich.it

Vice-Chair: Kenneth G. Miller

Professor, Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences
State University of New Jersey
610 Taylor Rd., Piscataway, NY 08854-8066, USA
Tel: +1 732-445-3622
E-mail: kgm@rci.rutgers.edu

Secretary: Elena Turco

Professor, Dipartimento di Scienze Chimiche, della Vita e della Sostenibilità Ambientale
Università degli Studi di Parma
Parco Area delle Scienze 157/A, 43124 Parma, Italy
Tel: +39 0521905366
E-mail: elena.turco@unipr.it

Subcommission on Quaternary Stratigraphy

Homepage

Chair: Martin J. Head

Professor, Department of Earth Sciences
Brock University
1812 Sir Isaac Brock Way,
St. Catharines, Ontario L2S 3A1, Canada
Tel: +1 905-688-5550 ext. 5216
E-mail: mjhead@brocku.ca

Vice-Chair: Brad Pillans

Professor, Research School of Earth Sciences
The Australian National University,
Canberra, Act, 0200, Australia
Tel: +61-2-6125 9644 (Office), +61-2-6249 1507 (Lab),
+61-2-6232 4687 (Home) E-mail: brad.pillans@anu.edu.au

Secretary: Jan Zalasiewicz

Professor, Department of Geology, University of Leicester,
Leicester, LE1 7RH, UK
Tel: +44 (0)116 252 3928
E-mail: jaz1@leicester.ac.uk, jaz1@le.ac.uk

Subcommission on Stratigraphic Classification

Homepage

Chair: Werner E. Piller

Institute for Earth Sciences
University of Graz
Heinrichstrasse 26
8010 Graz, Austria
Tel: +43 316 380 5582
E-mail: werner.piller@uni-graz.at

Vice-Chair: Brian R. Pratt

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences
University of Saskatchewan,
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7N 5E2 Canada
Tel: +1 306-966-5725
E-mail: brian.pratt@usask.ca

Vice-Chair: Richard H. Fluegeman

Department of Geological Sciences
Ball State University
4130 West University Ave
Muncie, Indiana 47304, USA
Tel: +1-765-285-8267
E-mail: rfluegem@bsu.edu

Secretary: Jochen Erbacher

Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources
Geozentrum Hannover
Stilleweg 2
30655 Hannover, Germany
Tel: +49-511-643-2795
E-mail: Jochen.Erbacher@bgr.de